Our values for 800 Years:   
Poverty, simplicity, humility, justice,   
Peace, joy in God and universal brotherhood   
               

                  

Mission    










Franciscan Missions of Canada: The Holy Land and International Missions

The Franciscan Order’s unique charism comes from the love Francis of Assisi had for the poor and for people of all cultures, origins and religions, and from the emphasis he placed on contemplation and action. The Canadian Franciscans have inherited a long-standing apostolic tradition, and evangelization is at the heart of their vocation and identity. They have founded missions in seven large apostolic areas.

The Holy Land

 For over six centuries, some 400 friars have been part of the Custody of the Holy Land. They are spread out over 64 friaries and 21 shrines. Their work also includes 40 parishes, 30 schools, six colleges, and eight hostels for pilgrims. Our Canadian province, which has always had four or five friars in the Holy Land, has had a Commissariat of the Holy Land in Ottawa since our foundation. Each year, it collects donations from all over Canada to support the needs of Christian communities in the Holy Land and of the pilgrimage sites. It also offers an annual pilgrimage in the footsteps of Jesus.

In 1342, the Church entrusted the Franciscans with the care of the Holy Sites. Today, these friars look after some 30 shrines in Palestine. Over time, the Custody of the Holy Land has set up Commissariats of the Holy Land in over 60 countries in order to make known the Work of the Holy Land, to increase devotion for the Holy Sites and to collect funds. In 1888, Br. Frédéric Janssoone o.f.m., a former missionary in the Holy Land, established a Commissariat in Trois-Rivières, and was himself the commissary until his death in 1916. In 1919, the Commissariat was moved to Ottawa. The first French Canadian to become a Franciscan priest chose the missions in the Holy Land and arrived in Bethlehem in 1902. In January 1979, it was estimated that 45 Canadian Franciscans had served in the Holy Land.

Distant lands

 

 The Province of St. Joseph in Eastern Canada has founded missions in various countries: China, Peru, Japan, Korea. As of 2011, there are two Franciscan missionaries in Peru (Jacques Lalonde and Pacifique Dubé), one in Haiti (Raymond Mailhiot) and two in Project Africa (Jacques St-Yves and Alain Bouchard).

  • Japan: A French priest, Father Maurice Bertin (1870–1968) channeled the missionary zeal for Japan. After entering the Order in 1896, he immigrated to Canada in 1903 and left for Japan in 1906. Two Canadians joined him there in June 1907. Another arrived in 1908 and a fourth in 1909. Since 1959, the Province of St. Joseph, Eastern Canada, has not sent any missionaries to Japan. In 1981, it was noted that 62 Franciscans had worked in Japan. A relief system had been set up to replace them.
  • China: The apostolate of the Canadian Franciscans in China began around the same time as the one in Japan. On January 21, 1910, the first Canadian Franciscan departed for China; a second joined him there the same year. After the Second World War, the Communist presence led to the end of the Canadian Franciscan missionary work in China in early 1952. The Province of St. Joseph had sent 12 missionaries there.
  • Korea: The situation in Japan and the growing number of missionary candidates in Quebec led Canada’s Province of St. Joseph to open a mission field in Taejon, Korea, in September 1937. The Province of St. Joseph sent its last missionary there in 1965, and our missionary presence remained until the return to Canada of Br. Georges Morin, in 1991.
  • Amazonia: The closing of the Japanese and Chinese mission fields freed up a number of missionaries. Two veterans of Japan – the first in 1936 and the second in 1938 – travelled to Lima, where the Japanese were founding a powerful settlement. In 1944, another Japan veteran who had been working in Lima since 1941 was named founding pastor of Tingo Maria. On August 13, 1945, Rome established, in northeastern Peru, the apostolic prefecture of San José del Amazonas. On July 13, 1955, Rome made it an apostolic vicariate.
  • Africa: On January 9, 1982, the Minister General of the Order of Friars Minor created the African vicariate of St. Francis in East Africa. It included six countries. This Africa Project sent out a call for Franciscans from all nations. A Canadian Franciscan was the first to volunteer to sign up for the Africa Project, in August 1982. To date, five Canadian Franciscans have answered the call of the Minister General of the Order.
  • Haiti: The Mission of the Cayemites Islands, about an hour from the southwest coast of Haiti, was opened in the autumn of 1987 by a Franciscan from the Province of St. Joseph, Canada, in response to a call for help from the bishop of the diocese of Jérémie. His pastoral zeal and organizational skills soon bore fruit. The mission now includes over 15 chapels and nine parochial schools.

This text is taken from Les Franciscains au Canada, edited by Jean Hamelin, Septentrion, 2005, pp. 123–140. Translation by the Franciscans of Canada.

Marc Le Goanvec: “Creation”

“Heaven and earth are within us,” Gandhi said. Each person carries within himself or herself the story of the universe: all those particles that form me today have already been part of something else, and will be part of something else again someday. Read more >>>

Nos valeurs depuis 800 ans:   
pauvreté, simplicité, humilité, justice,   
paix, joie en Dieu et fraternité universelle   
               

                  

Mission    










Des engagements variés

Les Franciscains n’ont pas de tâche déterminée dans l’Église, si nous entendons par là des secteurs précis et exclusifs d’engagement. Ils n’ont pas été rassemblés pour une œuvre spécifique, ni pour faire des œuvres. C’est selon les besoins particuliers à différentes époques qu’ils ont fondé et tenu des lieux de pèlerinages, des aumôneries, des paroisses, des collèges, des camps d’été, des revues, etc.

Leur mission est d’être une cellule d’Église, ouverte à tous et engagée en Église pour le monde actuel, surtout envers les plus défavorisés. Une fois compris et vécu, cet objectif missionnaire incite chaque frère à s’occuper à un travail apostolique honnête selon ses capacités et ses goûts… et selon les besoins de tel milieu.

Missions franciscaines du Canada : La Terre Sainte et les pays lointains

L’Ordre Franciscain tient son originalité de l’amour que François d’Assise porte à la pauvreté et aux infidèles, et à l’importance qu’il accorde à la contemplation et à l’action. Les Franciscains canadiens sont ainsi les héritiers d’une longue tradition apostolique et l’évangélisation est au cœur de leur vocation et de leur identité. Ils ont établi une mission dans sept grandes aires apostoliques.

La Terre Sainte

Environ 400 frères font partie de la Custodie de Terre Sainte, depuis plus de six siècles, et sont répartis en 64 maisons et 21 sanctuaires. Leur travail s’étend aussi à 40 paroisses, 30 écoles, 6 collèges et 8 hôtelleries pour pèlerins. Notre Province canadienne, qui a toujours eu quatre ou cinq frères en Terre Sainte, compte un Commissariat de Terre sainte à Ottawa depuis sa fondation. Il recueille annuellement les aumônes de tout le Canada pour subvenir aux besoins des communautés chrétiennes de Terre sainte et des lieux de pèlerinage. Il offre aussi un pèlerinage annuel sur les pas de Jésus.

C’est en 1342 que l’Église confie la garde des Lieux Saints aux Frères mineurs. Actuellement ceux-ci s’occupent d’une trentaine de sanctuaires en Palestine. Avec le temps, la Custodie de Terre Sainte a mis sur pied des commissariats de Terre Sainte dans plus de 60 pays dans le but de faire connaître l’Œuvre de Terre Sainte, de propager la dévotion aux Lieux Saints et de recueillir des dons. En 1888, le P. Frédéric Janssoone, o.f.m., ancien missionnaire de la Terre Sainte, établit un commissariat à Trois-Rivières et en est le commissaire jusqu’à sa mort en 1916. En 1919, le commissariat déménage à Ottawa. Le premier Canadien français à devenir prêtre franciscain opte pour les missions en Terre Sainte et arrive à Bethléem en 1902. En janvier 1979, on estimait que 45 Franciscains canadiens avaient travaillé en Terre Sainte.

Les pays lointains

La Province Saint-Joseph de l’Est du Canada a fondé des missions en pays lointains : la Chine, le Pérou, le Japon, la Corée. Présentement, en 2011, les missionnaires franciscains sont deux au Pérou (Jacques Lalonde et Pacifique Dubé), un à Haïti (Raymond Mailhiot) et deux dans le Projet Afrique (Jacques St-Yves et Alain Bouchard).

 

  • Le Japon : C’est un Français, le P. Maurice Bertin (1870-1968) qui canalise le zèle missionnaire vers le Japon. Entré dans l’Ordre en 1896, il émigre au Canada en 1903 et part pour le Japon en 1906. Deux Canadiens le rejoignent dès juin 1907, un autre en 1908 et un quatrième en 1909. Depuis 1959, la Province Saint-Joseph du Canada n’envoie plus de missionnaires au Japon. En 1981, on évaluait à 62 le nombre de Franciscains canadiens qui avaient œuvré au Japon. Mais ils ont formé une relève pour les remplacer.
  • La Chine : L’apostolat des Franciscains canadiens en Chine est contemporain de celui qu’ils effectuent au Japon. Le 21 janvier 1910 part le premier Franciscain canadien pour la Chine et un deuxième le rejoint l’été de la même année. À la suite de la deuxième guerre mondiale, la présence communiste entraîne, au début de 1952, la fin de l’activité missionnaire des Franciscains canadiens en Chine. La Province Saint-Joseph y avait envoyé 12 missionnaires.
  • La Corée : Les difficultés au Japon et le nombre croissant d’aspirants missionnaires au Québec amènent la Province Saint-Joseph du Canada à ouvrir un champ d’apostolat à Taejon, en Corée en septembre 1937. La Province Saint-Joseph du Canada y enverra son dernier missionnaire en 1965.
  • L’Amazonie : La fermeture du Japon et de la Chine libère des missionnaires. Deux vétérans du Japon, le premier en 1936 et l’autre en 1938, sont dirigés vers Lima où les Japonais forment une puissante colonie. En 1944, un autre vétéran du Japon travaillant à Lima depuis 1941 est nommé curé-fondateur de Tingo María. Le 13 août 1945, Rome érige, dans le nord-est du Pérou, la Préfecture apostolique San José del Amazonas et le 13 juillet 1955, Rome en fera un vicariat apostolique.
  • L’Afrique : Le 9 janvier 1982, le Ministre général de l’Ordre des Frères mineurs crée la Vicairie africaine de Saint-François en Afrique de l’est. Elle comprend six pays. Ce Projet Afrique fait appel aux Franciscains de tous les pays. Un Franciscain canadien est le premier volontaire à s’inscrire au Projet Afrique dès août 1982. Jusqu’à maintenant 5 Franciscains canadiens ont répondu à l’appel du Ministre général de l’Ordre.
  • Haïti : La Mission des Iles Cayémites, à environ une heure des côtes sud-ouest d’Haïti a été ouverte à l’automne de 1987 par un franciscain de la Province Saint-Joseph du Canada, en réponse à un S.O.S. lancé par l’évêque du diocèse de Jérémie. Son zèle pastoral et son sens de l’organisation n’ont pas tardé à donner des fruits. La mission compte présentement au-delà de 15 chapelles et 9 écoles presbytérales.

Ce texte est extrait de Les Franciscains au Canada, sous la direction de Jean Hamelin, Septentrion, 2005, pp. 123-140.

Marc Le Goanvec : « La Création »

« Le ciel et la terre sont en nous », affirme Gandhi. Chaque personne porte en soi l’histoire de l’univers: toutes ces particules qui aujourd’hui me composent ont déjà fait partie d’autre chose, et le feront encore plus tard.  Lire la suite >>>